The Copa America 2015 Story

The Copa America 2015 has become a dream story for the host nation, Chile. They beat Argentina 4-1 on penalties to win their first ever Copa America in 99 years. This was the 44th edition of the Copa America and Chile finally clutched it and that too on the home soil.

Everyone wants to see their nation win a title at the big stage and the people of Chile wanted to see their national team lift the winning trophy for them in front of their eyes. The supporters backed their team throughout the tournament but the stadium in the final was a spectacle in the truest sense of the word.


Chile were the 3rd of the pre-tournament favourites after Argentina and Brazil but they worked their way up to the final and beat the favourites in the final to win the Copa America 2015 title. Chile were surely the best team in the group stage but throughout the tournament, even after being an extremely attacking team, they won all their matches narrowly except the one against Bolivia(5-0 win). Even the final, as expected, proved to be an extremely tightly fought game where both the teams gave their all but eventually, Chileans kept their calm in the penalties ad took away the trophy.

Chile did extremely well throughout the tournament with their key players, Alexis Sanchez, Arturo Vidal and Claudio Bravo, continuously stepping up for the team. As the key players did wonderful on one side, Jorge Valdivia, Charles Aranguiz and Eduardo Vargas came out as revelations from this tournament as they showcased their talent and skills.

Even in the World Cup 2014, this Chilean side looked very bright and they’ve finally proved their mettle by winning the first Copa America for their nation. Now that Chile have won a major title and impressed one and all with their performance, they have no choice but to get better from here.

Copa America 2015 Awards:

Winner : Chile

Runner-Up : Argentina

2nd Runner-Up : Peru

Top Scorers: Paolo Guerrero (Peru; includes a hat-trick against Bolivia in the quarterfinal) 4 goals

Eduardo Vargas (Chile; includes a brace against Peru in the semifinal) 4 goals

Best Young Player: Jeison Murillo (Colombia; the only person to have scored for the team in the Copa America 2015)

Best Goalkeeper: Claudio Bravo (Chile)

Fair Play Award: Peru

About Author

Leave a Reply