Indian Test Squad Announced for the Sri Lanka Test Series

As the Indian test team was announced for the Srilankan tour today, Amit Mishra is set to make a comeback in the national test squad after four years as the last test match he played was against England in 2011.

As the Srilankan pitches are expected to facilitate spinners, the selectors had already chosen Harbhajan Singh as one of the team’s spinners. With Karn Sharma just out of an injury, Axar Patel still in the learning process and Jadeja’s disappointing performances, the selectors decided to go for Mishra amongst him and Pragyan Ojha.

Lokesh Rahul has also found a place in the team again after missing out on Bangladesh tour owing to injury.

Saha will be the only wicket-keeper for the tour though there were discussions about having a back up wicket-keeper.

The full test squad is as follows:

Virat Kohli (C), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Harbhajan Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Varun Aaron, Amit Mishra.

The series is scheduled to start on 12th August 2015.

News Courtesy: Sportskeeda

About Author

Leave a Reply