London, Saturday 10 April 2021: For the first time, the EE British Academy Film Awards take place over two consecutive evenings from the Royal Albert Hall in London this weekend. 

This evening, the first of two ceremonies – the ‘EE BAFTA Film Awards Opening Night’ –  was hosted by Clara Amfo alongside guests Rhianna Dhillon and Joanna Scanlan.

Eight of 25 awards winners were revealed during the show, broadcast on BBC Two and BBC Two HD, as part of a programme that gave audiences an in-depth insight into the filmmaking process. 

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom won two awards: Costume Design and Make Up & HairRocks won Casting. Sound of Metal won SoundMank won Production DesignTenet won Special Visual EffectsThe Present won the British Short Film award, while the BAFTA for British Short Animation was won by The Owl and the Pussycat.

The award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema, announced last month, was presented to filmmaker Noel Clarke.

Tomorrow, Sunday 11 April, the EE British Academy Film Awards will be hosted by Edith Bowman and Dermot O’Leary from London’s Royal Albert Hall with nominees attending virtually. The winners of 17 categories will be announced over the course of the evening including the public-voted EE Rising Star Award. In addition, the Fellowship, the highest honour the Academy can bestow, will be awarded to director Ang Lee. The show will be broadcast on BBC One and BBC One HD at 7pm BST.

As part of BAFTA’s year-round programme of learning events and initiatives, 50 of this year’s nominees across 10 categories took part in ‘BAFTA Film: The Sessions’ from 22 March – 1 April. The Sessions saw the nominees discuss their craft in interviews that are available online on BAFTA’s social channels and on BAFTA Guru.

Other year-round film activity includes initiatives such as BAFTA’s new talent activity and scholarships programme, BAFTA Crew, BAFTA Elevate, as well as masterclasses and the ‘BAFTA A Life in Pictures’ series.

To access the best creative minds in film, games and TV production, visit For more, visit

About Author

Leave a Reply